Thursday November 4

Today is a good day. Yesterday was too. I really think Cody has severe reactions to any corticosteroids and that is what makes him incredibly sick. Yesterday morning he woke up and was bright eyed and bushy tailed. A total 180 from the day before. He hopped up on the bed in the morning and was rolling around getting belly rubs and giving kisses like normal. Seemed to be acting fine most of the day although still a bit tired. I am so relieved!!! I took him for a few walks throughout the day and he had soft but not diarrhea poo. Sometimes i can not believe this is my daily norm… talking about the consistency of my dogs bowel movements.

On Tuesday after the big dose of Chemo he actually ate all of his dinner which shocked me. I assumed he would have no appetite for the next couple days, especially that night. I was wrong. He ate a huge bowl of food and has at every meal. This is the best sign of them all because not eating is the worst thing that can happen.

He is obviously sensitive to any medications and the chemo seems to be working to an extent. His lymph nodes were back right before this last treatment but today he seems to be back to no lymph node swelling. That makes me happy too. I think the two weeks it takes him to regain his white cells and immunity may in fact be hurting the effects of the chemo, but as long as it keeps him alive and he feels good I am ok with that. He has no outward signs of sickness… he is active and happy… playing with his toys and i even played with him across the street with the Chuckit and tennis ball this morning. He sleeps most of the day and when i start to do anything like go outside or  walk around the house he gets up and follows me like normal.

I have been noticing that he is getting a little grey around his chin and face. Being only five years old this has to be a sign of the chemo or the wear on his body… it is aging him. He is losing a bit of weight i guess but that is not necessarily substantiated since the nurse on Tuesday said he was moving around too much to get an accurate reading on the scale. I have seen him do that as well where the scale that he stands on goes up and down from 63 – 68 lbs as he moves on and off of it. Again had they let me come with them, i would have controlled him. This kind of thing will never happen again. I refuse to not be present when anything is done to him at all, including cutting his nails.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on November 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

