Tuesday November 16

Today i went for a run, then took Cody to run with the ball across the street. He loves it so much… endless energy. He has this funny way of telling me he is done however. When he has had enough, on his way back from fetching the ball he simply  just walks past me with it in his mouth and looks at me like “c’mon, let’s go! I am out…” Such a personality, he is hilarious.

Cody and i piled in the car a little before 10am to go see the Vet. He loves Dr Butzer. I saw Dr Butzer running on Sunday as i was biking… he lives in the neighborhood and i always see him exercising when i am exercising. So we get Cody’s weight and he is 66lbs, up a pound from last week which makes me happy! I am so glad this new no carb food is working and he is not dropping weight like crazy. His CBC’s were good too! His Whites were at 6.32 which is the highest they have been since we started chemo, and his reds are 5.93. VERY good news! No lymph nodes can be felt and he looks great except for the paleness of his gums which means he is a bit anemic. That is to be expected however, since the chemo attacks his bone marrow. I can not supplement him with iron though as it inhibits the effects of the chemo so i need to just boost his regular iron intake with spinach and broccoli etc.

So Butzer and i talk about his health and how he is doing and decide to give him his dose today. So down on the floor plops the Doc and Cody kisses him all over his face, and he gives him his shot of Vincristine. This is the shot that seems to make Cody a bit sick, but i think it has nothing to do with the strength or potency of the drug, just the chemical make up of it. He just usually gets a bit of diarrhea from it but nothing major.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cody seems unaffected by this last shot today. I took him home and right now he is outside on the porch playing with Albert (small black cat who loves to climb my screens on the screened in porch and tear huge holes in them to negate the fact that they are there to keep bugs out). They are funny together being the largest animal in the house best buddies with the smallest animal in the house.

So today’s visit cost $133.68 bringing the grande total so far for Cody’s chemo treatment to :

9/21 – $225.53
9/24 – $12.78
9/27 – $137.80
9/28 – $335.67
10/5 – $65.18
10/12 – $142.37
10/19 – $142.37
10/26 – $61.20
11/2 – $408.22
11/16 – $133.68

Total – $1664.80

I am telling you the costs so that if you should have to undergo this treatment for your pet you know what to expect. Again I have to say that this all seems pretty reasonable comparatively. When I called around for prices and quotes on treatment with Oncologists it was double this if not more. I also have to state here that this treatment has been WELL WORTH the price as the time… the QUALITY time i am getting with my boy is priceless. He is in good spirits and is happy and seemingly healthy… I could not ask for more especially since, had I done nothing he would be gone already.

Anything for the boy….

Cheers!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on November 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

