Monday November 22…

Cody has a week off from chemo this week, which appropriately enough i am thankful for. I really think he is fighting the good fight at this point and trying not to act sick. But i can see the effects of the chemo in him now… it is starting to take it’s toll physically. I have no idea what it is doing to his insides… his bone marrow and his organs etc. From what I understand it somewhat destroys his marrow meaning knocks his ability to produce white cells and red cells… making his immune system suffer. But that is not what I am noticing….

I am noticing more outward appearance effects. For one thing he gets tired pretty easy. He tries to run with the ball for a while but it seems he can only handle about ten minutes and then he is done. When he was healthy he would go and go and go and the only way to tell he had enough was he would drop to a heap in the middle of the field panting. Now he is not necessarily out of breath before he nudges me that he wants to go home.

But the main thing I am noticing is his coat. He is getting a lot more white all over him, but especially his chin. Grey almost. And the most noticable… he looks like he is losing hair around his eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you look at the lower rim of his eye in the pics above you can see spots where it seems he has lost some of his fur… i also noticed this around his mouth a bit and on his thigh. Poor baby.

 

Needless to say I am keeping an eye on this. He is still very sweet and loving, still wants to play all the time. Because his personality still seems unaffected and intact I will keep going with the chemo in hopes that he goes into remission. Again I have to say it has been worth it to have this extra time with him… he is my baby and I can not imagine my life without him in it.

I am very very THANKFUL for every day I have with him.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on November 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

