Feeling Better…

It’s been a rough week for all of us this week. Cody is on the uphill climb to feeling better but unfortunately I must have caught a stomach virus and have been down for the count for the last few days. I woke up Tuesday morning totally nauseous and have been sleeping almost all day for the last three. Today I seem to be on the mend although I have not eaten a thing since Tuesday. Maybe some soup is in order today…

Cody however has been eating and seems to be holding it all down like a champ! He is in much better spirits and back to his old self of staring at me in anticipation of my taking him running across the street with the ball. Every time i go anywhere near the front door he is jumping at my feet. “Sorry buddy… Mommy is just not up for that right now and I doubt you are either.”

Unfortunately however, he does not seem AT ALL interested in his food mix. Ugh! That stuff is EXPENSIVE and I have about 3/4 of a bag of it left. The bland chicken turned him into a snob I think and all he seems to want to eat now is some sort of ground meat that I have been mixing broccoli and spinach into. He LOVES it! Wouldn’t you? Home cooked nice warm meal… all aromatic and yummy… and no vitamins mixed in. I tried that. Usually i open all the capsules and dump the contents in, and mix it into his food so he does not ingest the actual gel cap… but he turns his nose up and won’t eat it. So I have just been mixing in the whole caps in the food and he eats them down unsuspectingly.

He looks better too. Although he has not pooped in three days… I plan on taking him for a good long walk today to see if I can walk it out of him. As soon as it warms up again that is… it is 40 degrees here again this morning.

So we are all on the mend… which is good news for all involved. I am missing a week of training for my half marathon but after last weekend’s ten miles i am ok with that. There is no way i could run this week, that would be asking for a slow painful death. The race is January 30th… so I have time and I am ready… The 30th is actually the one year “anniversary” of our friend who passed of brain cancer at age 37 just last year. Nothing to celebrate, but something to definitely remember. There are many reasons to run this race and Cody and G are two big ones….

Onward and upward!

 

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on January 13, 2011.

One Response to “Feeling Better…”

  1. That’s great that Cody is feeling better, glad to hear it. Brown rice is good to mix in with the chicken and meat, also shredded carrots (really any type of carrots will make him go) We feed Sammie (my corgi) vegetables with every meal. It was his diet when we rescued him. Anyway good luck with the marathon! Karen

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

