Chemo Tuesday…

I was a bit worried about this Vet visit today.  Although this weekend was a good one, the one prior was definitely not good at all and it took Cody all this last week to feel better. I was worried that his whites would be really low, and that he has lost some weight. He looks it. After the weekend of puking I can tell he is thinner. Amazing how quickly it takes it’s toll on his body! He has been eating normally though all this week, so that is a great sign of improvement and that it was in fact just the chemo making him sick.

So we got to Clint Moore at 10am after my run and a short little run with Cody to get his ya ya’s out before the office visit. I always think this makes him a bit more calm and responsive to me. So we get there and there is literally a crazy woman in the waiting room. I mean crazy. She was talking on her cell phone REALLY loud in the corner, eyes closed, obviously sick because she was sniffling and raspy, wearing leg warmers over HIGH healed S&M boots, a sweatshirt straight out of the 80’s off one shoulder and bright aqua, matching bright aqua stretch pants, hair in little pigtails in the front and down in the back and all of about 70 years old.

CRAZY.

The girls at the front desk told me to have a seat while they got me a room but that did not last long, I couldn’t take it… so I went to stand by the front desk. The girls laughed and said the crazy lady is in there every day getting her puppy nebulized. She must have bought a toy puppy from the Boca Puppies store down the street. EVERY single puppy from there is sickly and the new owner spends a week at Clint Moore getting them healthy again. Buyer Beware! With the hefty mutil-thousand dollar price tags on those puppies you’d think they would be immaculate. Anyway while I was standing there Crazy’s puppy was done and as she is checking out she tells everyone that can hear her that she just loves to express herself…

Have i mentioned CRAZY?

Immediately at the front of the reception area is a cage embedded in the wall where they display animals up for adoption and there was the most adorable, sweet affectionate smokey greyish brown male cat in there. Such a sweet sweet boy! I stood in front of the cage and he nuzzled my hand, drooled, rubbed himself against my arm, reached for me when I stopped and purred… Even Cody fell in love! Cody jumped up to look in the cage and the sweet boy reached out with one paw and patted his head! Honestly if it were not for my curmudgeon Jimi I would have that one home by now. I took a few pics of him below… I think if he is still there in two weeks when I take Cody back he may have a new home:

Hard to say goodbye to that cutie… but we went into a  room and they weighed Cody and took his CBC. He is 64lbs today, down two from last time. His CBC came back ok though… his whites are at 5.94 and reds are good at 6.74, platelets are mid-range right where they should be. So Butzer and I decided to give him his next dose. Butzer talked to an Oncologist who recommended giving Cody Vinblastin instead of Vincristine that he normally gets since it beats down his white cells so badly, so we tried that today. Hopefully his whites will bounce back faster than they normally do with the Vincristine, which usually takes three weeks for the next treatment.

We are on the home stretch now. I think he has seven more treatments to go so we are more than half way done. Butzer and I discussed Cody’s puking after the Doxyrubicin and maybe trying a preventive measure of an antacid prior to him getting sick, like starting it the day after he gets that dose and keeping him on it for a week or so. If it prevents him from puking I am all for it, he was miserable. The chemo, especially the Doxy, destroys any rapidly growing cells. His stomach (everyone’s stomach) is filled with rapidly growing cells for digestion and it kills those too… takes no prisoners! So that may be making his stomach ultra sensitive and not knocking the acid down for those couple days. Butzer also thinks it is a sustained release so takes a few days to really kick in.

It was strange today with Dr Butzer, he seemed worried or upset for Cody more than his normal doctorly concern that I am used to. I think he is maybe getting attached to Cody or maybe it was just the concern about his puking… not sure but there was definitely a different vibe in there today with him. We talked about post treatment and I asked if this cancer, being Lymphoma is something that will go right back to his lymph nodes or could it attack somewhere else? He said it would be just watching his nodes for swelling. I guess there is a blood test that after treatment we can see if there are any cancer cells but right after treatment it will most definitely be negative. If it does come up positive at any time the options are the same… more chemo… or letting him go.

Cross that bridge when…. or hopefully not ever!

So today cost $135.00… $60 for the CBC and $75 for the Vinblastin… which brings the grande total now to:

9/21 – $225.53
9/24 – $12.78
9/27 – $137.80
9/28 – $335.67
10/5 – $65.18
10/12 – $142.37
10/19 – $142.37
10/26 – $61.20
11/2 – $408.22
11/16 – $133.68
11/30 – $108.23
12/3 – $102.27
12/14 – $173.00
12/28 – $60
01/04 – $322.10
01/18 – $135.00

Total – $2565.40

As I said earlier, Cody is doing much better this week… eating well and sleeping well… no diarrhea or puking. All is well and right and good in his world…

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on January 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

