Getting Ready For Race Day…

This last week Cody has been doing really well! He is his old self, happy, playful and eating well. He even looks healthier as he seems to have fattened up a bit and gained back the few pounds he lost when he had the Puke Fest. He still seems a bit lazy when he shuts down… and he is hard to “reboot”. Meaning once he lays down and starts snoring (which is almost immediately) he is really difficult to rouse again. He basically just lays there and ignores my efforts to get him to get up. Kind of funny but when all of his 66lbs are laying on my legs it is not so funny.

Speaking of legs… my Half Marathon is on Sunday morning and I am getting PSYCHED!!! A bit nervous.. but mostly excited. Not only have I never run in such a large crowd (this is the ING Miami Marathon and Half Marathon) and is a Boston qualifier, but I have also never run 13 miles. I have run ten, a few times… but never 13. I can do it though. I think the mere fact that I will have a screaming crowd around me and tons of other racers is enough to carry me over the finish line. That and the fact that my race bib says FOR CODY….

Dr Butzer and another employee at the Hospital are running the Half as well… maybe I will see them… but I doubt it. There will literally be thousands of people there! CRAZINESS!

I read on one of the canine cancer sites somewhere recently that  it has been discovered that a red meat based diet for dogs with cancer is not good. Something about red meat being high in fatty acids which turn to sugars (which are VERY bad for any cancer, human or dog) so i may start to switch Cody over to ground chicken as a protein instead of all that ground beef I have been feeding him. It specifically said grain fed beef is high in Omega 6… that is the bad fat… Omega 3 is the good fat and what he is taking as a supplement. I need to do a bit more research on this to see if I can find more info since pretty much everything eventually is labeled bad for you and causes cancer. You can make yourself crazy if you listened to everything you read!  I also have to get to a Vitamin Shoppe soon… he is out of Tahitian Nonni and has been…. i am a bad Mommy…

So that is what is going on in our little world this week. Cody has been exercising too… running with that silly tennis ball every day and loving it. He seems really healthy and happy… and that makes me happy too.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on January 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

