Post Race and Chemo

On Sunday January 30th I ran the ING Half Marathon “For Cody”.

It was amazing! The event was absolutely HUGE! There were 20,000 participants and to run in that large of a crowd was awe inspiring. We woke up at 3:30am in the absolute darkness, Cody hiding his face at the light looking at me like I was absolutely crazy. “What are you doing up at this hour?!” Horrified he just laid there, nose tucked under his blanket, paws over his face and every now and then opened one eye to watch me get dressed in my running gear and gather my things together. By 4am we hit the road for the hour drive down to Miami. SO MANY PEOPLE!!! It was exciting chaos and the energy was electric!

I checked my gear at the gear dropoff, then got to the start line. I did not get in my designated corral as it seemed impossible to get anywhere closer, so I stood in the back with all my nervous energy and waited for the gun. The start of the race begins at the gun but your official time does not start until you cross over the Starting Line with your chip indicating you have started. The streets were lined with cheering spectators and the signs were great. One particularly was hilarious “ 26.2 BECAUSE 26.3 WOULD BE CRAZY!” hahaha! It was a great course, starting at American Airlines arena, over the MacArthur Causeway, down into South Beach up Ocean Drive (surrounded by drunks who are still partying from the pervious night toasting us!), up to dade Blvd then over the Venetian Causeway with all that water and boats! Then through the streets of Downtown to the Finish. It was honestly just awesome! And a bit tough at the end too… but no pain no gain right?

I did well and hit a personal goal. I wanted to finish in two hours and I did… my official time was 2:02!

All in all it was a VERY positive experience, except for at about Mile 11 I was pushed VERY hard by a woman for no apparent reason. I gotta admit I was really pissed about that. It was no mere tiny push like she was passing me and needed to tell me where she was, she literally put her entire hand in the middle of my shoulder blades and pushed me HARD! I almost fell into another girl on the other side of me. I definitely gave her a lot of grief after that and she did not get very far ahead of me after that either. No idea what that was about except shear rudeness… but I did not let it ruin my experience. Karma!

We got home around noon after a huge pancake breakfast and Cody was very happy to see us! After showers we lounged around all day and I was in bed by 8:30pm Sunday night! EXHAUSTED!

And now it is Tuesday and I woke up with a wicked sore throat. I am not sure if I am sick or it is from the heavy breathing during the race up that last hill of a bridge towards the end. It was a small HUGE hill at mile 11! Regardless of how I feel, Cody had his chemo treatment this morning. He did GREAT! He weighed in at 67 lbs! He gained three pounds in two weeks! I have to pat myself on the back for that one. Gaining weight is a wonderful sign that he is doing good… and it makes me happy. They took his CBC and his numbers came out good too. Seems like substituting the Vinblastin for the Vincristine is a good move. His whites are at 5.63, reds are 6.57 and platelets are 333. Today he got a shot of Cyclophosphamide in his arm and he did great as usual, wagging his tail and happily licking Butzer’s face. Dr Butzer ran on Sunday as well and said he loved it. He finished at around 2:15 or so, and Ryan in the office there finished at a great 1:45 or something! Those crazy youngsters! HA!

Anyway, today’s visit cost $103.00. It was only $30 for the CBC as for some reason they gave me a 50% discount, and it was $73.00 for the Cyclophosphamide. This brings the grande total to :

9/21 – $225.53
9/24 – $12.78
9/27 – $137.80
9/28 – $335.67
10/5 – $65.18
10/12 – $142.37
10/19 – $142.37
10/26 – $61.20
11/2 – $408.22
11/16 – $133.68
11/30 – $108.23
12/3 – $102.27
12/14 – $173.00
12/28 – $60
01/04 – $322.10
01/18 – $135.00
2/1 – $103.00

Total – $2668.40

Hopefully this week post chemo will go well for the boy and I will turn out to not be sick after all… just in time for the Superbowl Weekend and to continue training… I may just decide to be just crazy enough and try a full Marathon!!! FOR CODY!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on February 1, 2011.

One Response to “Post Race and Chemo”

  1. SO happy for you and cody! Hope you are not sick, just like you said, heavy breathing on the hill. Good news all around!

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

