Chemo and a Staph Infection…

We have all had a good couple weeks except for a nasty cold I have been battling and the loss of our Superbowl team… Cody rooted for them too!

Today was chemo day again for Cody. We left the house early this morning and Cody was pretty hyper. I am not sure if it is the weather that makes him go ape shit randomly but that is the perfect description. He just loses his mind. We are trying to get out the front door and he is pacing back and forth, i try to get his collar on him and he is nodding his head (it does not help that i have keys in one hand with the leash and collar and a cup of coffee in the other). He is moving so much that I give up and just have him follow me to the car. I open the front door and as I am opening the back door to the back seat (I have a Honda Element that requires you to open the front door to open the passenger door) he tries to jump across the drivers seat. Ugh it is going to be one of those Vet visits…

So we get in the car and he is hopping around the back seat. We get to the parking lot and he is pacing around the back of the car. I open the back door and he is trying to get around me to jump out the door as I am trying to get his collar on for the second time! Now he forces me to yell at him in the parking lot to settle down, and as I finally get him leashed and close the door of my car I look over and there is a Boca woman with her foo foo dog staring at me like I am horrid. Yay.

We get to the front door after pulling him away from every turd he could find on the way across the parking lot and pathway. They immediately get us a room thankfully. He is tap dancing all around the room and I am already exhausted. I have been sick for the last two weeks so my energy level is pretty much at the intolerant level today… so I am just watching him dance. The tech comes in and again he goes ape shit, he tries to actually stand on his back legs to jump up on her. He knows he is not allowed to do this so it is a half assed attempt and he sideways glances at me. Ha! Too funny!

She took him to clip his nails, draw his blood for the CBC and get weighed. He weighed in at 66.6 lbs and we joked that was the reason he was so crazy today being the number of The Beast ha! His CBC numbers were fantastic today – his whites were 7.28, reds were 6.96 and his platelets are right down the middle where they should be. SO HAPPY!

So Butzer came in and we talked about the dose today, Vinblastine again, the replacement for the Vincristine that makes him so weak. Butzer felt his whole body and said he feels great, no nodes, and then i remembered the rash I saw over the weekend. On Sunday I was laying on the bed with him for a bit scratching him and he rolled over in his normal silliness.

I saw some red spots on his belly and around his penis, pretty red and raw, flaky, and there were a bunch of them. So today when I showed them to Butzer I made Cody roll over and there were twice as many as he had on Sunday! I was pretty alarmed and Butzer said this was a Staph infection, probably because of his immune system and maybe a bug bite started it or something. It is a topical bacterial infection and a lot of dogs who are healthy get them. I read about it a bit this evening and it is a parasite that can be opportunistic and I will need to wash his dog bed, and all of his pillows that he lays on regularly, his blanky… apparently this is no joke as this could in fact be something he battles for a while and could potentially be fatal if the antibiotics I have for him don’t kill it. Some strains are resistant.

Now I am worried… but one day at a time right? So Butzer prescribed Simplicef and we’ll see how it goes. I have been worried about fleas and mosquitoes because i am not treating him for flea prevention or Heartworm since those medications are toxic for him right now. So I will treat him with these antibiotics and just watch the progress of the lesions. Butzer tourniquets Cody and gives him the shot, and in usual Cody style he licks Butzer’s face the whole time and wags his tail.

We are done so Cody and I open the door of the room to go out to the reception area to pay and as soon as we step through the door we are hit in the face with the most disgusting poop smell! I have been coming to this Vet for years and I have NEVER ever experienced this before! WHOA! Cody’s nose is immediately in the air sniffing and we walk to the checkout. I am scanning the area looking for a huge pile, cause that is what it smells like! I stand at the counter waiting to be checked out and one of the girls I know walks up. I asked “what happened in here?”. She says “ha, the cats in the front cage. As soon as I clean the cage they need to Christen it!” hahaha! GROSS!!! So I pay my $175.00 and we are on our way as quickly out the door as possible!

We get home and I am in a hurry to get to work, so I open the antibiotics and grab the pill pockets to shove one in, and the bright red pill shoots out of my fingers and lands on the floor of the kitchen… somewhere. And I can not find it anywhere. I don’t know if it went under the stove or what but I was on all fours for ten minutes with a flashlight trying to find it. No dice. Ok I fish another pill out, shove it in the pill pocket and Cody gulps it down… and i leave the house hoping that Little Albert does not find it before I do….

So today’s visit cost $175, $75 for the Vinblastine, $60 for the CBC and $40 for the Simplicef 200mg. So now the grande total is:

9/21 – $225.53
9/24 – $12.78
9/27 – $137.80
9/28 – $335.67
10/5 – $65.18
10/12 – $142.37
10/19 – $142.37
10/26 – $61.20
11/2 – $408.22
11/16 – $133.68
11/30 – $108.23
12/3 – $102.27
12/14 – $173.00
12/28 – $60
01/04 – $322.10
01/18 – $135.00
2/1 – $103.00
2/15 – $175.00

Total – $2843.40

Cody has five more visits left and in two weeks his next dose is the dreaded two-hour IV drip…. We have a lot to do before then, most importantly getting rid of a Staph infection!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on February 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

