Cody VS Vincristine

I knew that Cody was not feeling well even the evening after his Tuesday Vincristine shot. He just looked it. Exuded it. But as the days have progressed he seemed to get more and more worn. His face is drawn, his eyes are weepy, he has less energy and although he tries really hard, like any Labrador, to play at all costs, I can tell his heart is there but his body just is not. So the rest of the week I have been trying very hard to force him to rest. It is not an easy task. I have been wiping his eyes constantly, and I have noticed a lot more panting… and I have also noticed a lot more white around his face suddenly. I do not like this particular drug and neither does Cody!

He seemed to be doing ok this morning even though he had a bit of a restless night. Some of the side effects I have found on the web for Vincristine are: “Severe allergic reactions (rash; hives; difficulty breathing; tightness in the chest; swelling of the mouth, face, lips, or tongue); cough or sore throat; fever or chills; hearing changes or loss of hearing; mouth sores, muscle weakness; numbness or tingling of your fingers or toes; pain in the bones, muscles, or jaw; pain, redness, or swelling at the injection site; seizures; stomach pain; trouble urinating; unusual bruising or bleeding; vision changes or loss of vision.”

His restlessness at night I think is the muscle soreness, and maybe stiffness, and maybe pains in his bones. I know a few people who have been through chemo and complain about this.

I am fighting with myself that I cause him this discomfort with every chemo injection I take him to. But as you dedicated readers know, he does great! Only a couple times, two maybe in the eight months he has been getting chemo has he had it rough. But when it does happen my heart aches. So this morning he seemed ok… so I took him for a small short run with the ball to get his blood flowing as I know that is good for him. And as usual he tells me when he is done. Which he did. He seemed fine and happy… as I got ready to leave he was happy, laying around and seemed content. So I felt good about spending the day at the beach with my parents who are visiting and enjoying myself. Which I did!

I left for the beach around 11:00 am, spent the day in the water and enjoying the day. I was there all day. There was an event called Surfers For Autism which was amazing! All these surfers paddling autistic kids out on boards and surfing them back to shore all day. I heard there were 200 kids this year when only two years ago there were like 28! Greatness! The kids loved it! The happy autistic screaming was a sure sign that the kids were having a blast!

My parents and I hit the Irish pub for a couple Guinness and a delicious blackened mahi salad… then another dip in the ocean as the sun was setting. I was loving the day….

I got home about 8pm and Cody was happy to see me. I opened the front door and let him come out to pee… and as I came inside he ran to the living room… and started to gag. He puked all over the tile floor as I drug him away from the carpet. Then again on the way out to the patio. I left him out there while I cleaned up the mess and then quickly scanned the rest of the house looking for more.

Nothing.

Hmmm…

So I watched him. Let him back inside and watched him some more. Fed the cats but not Cody. I gave him a pill pocket with a Pepcid in it. He kept it down. Brought him in the bathroom with me while I showered. Still no puke. I found some Tylan antibiotic I had from a prior time for him and gave him one. I have about 9 left so I am going to give them to him and maybe call Butzer to get some more for him before I run out. He seems to be keeping that down too…

Now it is 9:45pm and I am pretty sure he is good to go… but a little weirded that we had an incident of puking form Vincristine when that has not happened before. I guess I just have to keep in mind that he is almost done… this is the last hard part of the protocol and it is going to be rough… but if we can just get through this part to the end… he will be good. He is a strong healthy boy and I have to stay positive for him because he reads me and knows when I am worried.

So I think I am gonna go lay in bed… watch some stupid bad TV and cuddle up with the boy for the rest of the night and make him rest. I have decided not to feed him tonight since the puke was pretty obviously food that had not been digested from this morning. Crazy that he still had food in his stomach from over 12 hours ago…

Regardless… I want the antibiotics and the pepcid to work… so I will let him be for tonight and give him a good breakfast tomorrow….

Onward and upward….

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on April 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

