Taking It Tough This Week…

Well I wish I had better news for this post but Cody is just simply not feeling well at all. He will not eat, drink, he is hiding in the back rooms in the dark, lethargic, uninterested in much of anything, his eyes are gooey, he looks drawn and thin, and he is obviously in some pain… maybe body and bone aches because he is completely restless. This makes it almost impossible for him to sleep for any length of time. He has vomited periodically over the last couple days and now he just simply refuses to eat. I have decided I hate Vincristine.

I got him some Tagamet to see if I could calm his stomach and he has been taking that, but still will not eat. Yesterday he threw up first thing in the morning before he ate anything and it was all bile. I gave him a Tagamet in a pill pocket and he kept it down… but did not eat or drink for the rest of the day. This obviously has me freaking out worried. I laid with him on the floor for a while and the look on his face kills me… I keep finding myself choking up but swallowing it away so he does not see that I am upset.  That is the last thing he needs. He lets me rub him down and that is why I think his body aches. He seems to really like it when I rub his back and his legs which I keep doing to help ease the pain and get his blood flowing a bit too.

He had a restless night and can’t seem to lay still for more than 10 minutes before he gets up and adjusts himself. This makes him, and me, exhausted. So this morning when he refused to eat at all, I gave him an ice cube that he ate about half of…. so I called Butzer.

I was really calling to see if I could give Cody something like Advil to ease his muscle aches since it is so obviously  impossible for him to be comfortable and therefore he gets no rest. He said that Advil and that sort of thing is too potent for him and to give him some Tramadol that he will provide. After I told him all that was going on he said to bring him in an he would give him some fluids too, just to make sure he is not getting dehydrated.

So at noon I put the boy in the car. He was NOT into it at all. He usually gets pretty excited to go anywhere but not this time.  He got right up on the front seat next to me and squeezed his body into a ball to lay down on the seat… looking terrible. I called the vet on the way to tell them I was coming and to get a room ready so I could take him right in without running into any other dogs. I pulled up in front and left the car running with the AC on (it is 85 degrees here) and ran in to see if the room was ready. It was, so I went out and got him and as I walked into the room Butzer was standing there waiting for me. Awesome!

He felt Cody all over and saw the goo in his eyes…took his temperature which was a bit higher than normal at 102.7… we talked about an antibiotic shot, fluids and a vitamin shot. He left to go get that and a tech came in to put the IV in his back of the fluid. I have to mention here, as did the girl tech, that Cody is SO good. She gushed about how he is always so good when they administer anything and true to form… he licked her face as she stuck the needle in his back and rubbed him while the fluids went in. Butzer came in and gave him the two shots of vitamins and pencillin, and told me about a woman who he called over the weekend who’s dog finished chemo and she did a totally holistic maintenance. Her dog is still doing good almost two years post-chemo. He said she sent him an email and he tried to print it, but being a totally non-techie person he could not get it to print. He said he would forward it to me tomorrow and that if I wanted to talk to her she is open to that. Absolutely!

So we finished up and I took Cody directly to the car and again turned it on with the AC, and ran inside to pay. I got a bottle of Tramadol for him and Butzer said I can start him on it right away, as soon as I get home. So this visit was $58.80, he gave me discounts on everything and no charge for the office visit, so it breaks down to:

Office Visit – $0

Fluids SQ $20.50

Vitamin Injection SQ  – $12.50

Pencillin Injection – $14.50

Tramadol – $11.30

So the grande total now is:

9/21 – $225.53
9/24 – $12.78
9/27 – $137.80
9/28 – $335.67
10/5 – $65.18
10/12 – $142.37
10/19 – $142.37
10/26 – $61.20
11/2 – $408.22
11/16 – $133.68
11/30 – $108.23
12/3 – $102.27
12/14 – $173.00
12/28 – $60
01/04 – $322.10
01/18 – $135.00
2/1 – $103.00
2/15 – $175.00
3/1 – $110.00
3/8 – $399.10
3/21 – $117.60
3/29 – $73.00
4/5 – $58.80

Total – $3601.90

As soon as I got Cody home with his large hump back from the fluids under his skin, I gave him another Tagamet and a Tramadol. He kept that down and is now snoring behind me as I type this. Thankfully! All I want is for him to sleep right now. And maybe eat something for dinner. Not too much to ask right?

I think this may be tougher on me than on him!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on April 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “Taking It Tough This Week…”

  1. What an ordeal. I feel for you both. I’m glad you have a good vet; so many of them are mercenary and nothing more. Hugz.

  2. Michelle, I don’t know if you’re a reader, but if you want any articles from veterinary journals I have free access through my graduate school. If you’ve ever googled articles and been unable to open them because they want $65 for access, I can probably get them for you and email a PDF.

    But that’s me – my usual response to anything is to study! I’ve been studying pain alleviation for my own dogs and it struck me that I’m rather spoiled at being able to access this stuff for free. The offer’s there, whether it’s useful to you or not is up to you – your vet seems to be well informed.

    Alex

    • Thanks Alex. They think Cody has pancreatitis… so if you come across any vet info that deals with that and how to treat it I would love to see it. I am a total reader and suck up all kinds of information I find… it’s just hard to disseminate the good and the bad and the true and the not. I will read anything though… information is power.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

