Birthday Recap

Well Friday was a very special day for the boy. I already mentioned how we spent the morning with a run, going to drop off cookies for Dr Butzer and generally being spoiled. But I am not sure how much you all grasp HOW spoiled this dog is. Oh yes… very spoiled indeed…

So as the day progressed I felt that Cody needed the day to be not only special for me… I made a cake and all that… bought a candle in the shape of a six, party hats etc etc… but that is something only I get.  He could really care less about the hats, or the cake since he can’t have any… but he does care about his dinner…

Wait for it…

So I made him a NY Strip steak on the grill and some steamed broccoli. Yes. I did. And I ate with him on the floor as if we were dining together. Me, my guy and  the boy sat at the coffee table in the living room which is Cody height, I set a place setting for him too, cut up his rare steak into bite sized pieces and fed him in increments along with us. There were candles, wine and the honorable guest… all special and spoiled as it should be. The goal was to make Cody aware that this was not just any day, but a very very special one that was different from all the other days he has had.

  

And he was awesome! He sat there attentively watching us eat, then gently having some himself, smiling the whole time. Every now and then he would lean over and give me a sloppy went kiss as if to say thank you for this very special meal. As we would talk he would look at us like he was taking part, listening and watching. It was an amazing evening and I really do think he understood that we were celebrating him.

I know… some of you may think this is over the top… maybe a bit too much for a dog… a little strange. For me, this was exactly what I wanted to do for him. I wanted to blow his mind a little. I wanted him to feel a difference. I wanted him to feel special and extravagant.

I accomplished all of those things. It was a very good Cody’s Sixth Birthday for everyone! Maybe next year we will do it again!

 

 

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on July 18, 2011.

3 Responses to “Birthday Recap”

  1. Still reading your blog have to admit its a long one. I love this birthday one I did the same for Kuma him and I had ribeye. Not over the top at all.
    Bye for now
    Joann & Kuma

  2. […] weekend I was thinking of the last birthday we spent together. I made him a steak dinner and we ate together at the coffee table in my living room. It was amazing and hilarious… and he was a happy spoiled boy for a night. (well… always […]

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

