An Anniversary… Jury is still out if it is a happy one

Well what I mean by that title is that it is the one year “anniversary” of Cody’s first chemo administration. I would rather we did not have these anniversaries, but it is what it is. He was diagnosed on September 22, 2010 and six days later we started this journey to, if not save him, prolong his life. And this is definitely something I am celebrating tonight with him. He is here. A YEAR LATER. And he is doing fantastic!!!

As I write this he is sitting at my feet gnawing on a rawhide, happy, healthy and most of all alive. He is doing great on the new diet (who wouldn’t!) and he runs with the ball every day with me.  In my paranoia I check his neck multiple times a day with trepidation and when I find it free and clear my relief is apparent. SO HAPPY!!!

A whole year!!!! We have not been back to Butzer in months since his last big dose and I refuse to say the R word… but all of this is a great sign.

Look at that face!

So that is my news! A weird anniversary but it is a HUGE milestone… and I am happy my sweet silly boy and his stinky feet are still right here with me.

My dog’s feet smell like corn chips and I LOVE IT!!!!

 

Cheers!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on September 28, 2011.

One Response to “An Anniversary… Jury is still out if it is a happy one”

  1. Sitting at mom’s feet chewing on a rawhide…I can’t think of an activity that would make a Labrador Retriever happier than that scenario right there. Doggie nirvana!

    Enjoy each day – it’s hackneyed advice but it really is the best way forward whenever we can manage it.

    My shepherd is having her bath this weekend – those cheesy-popcorny feet are more amusing than gross, but it is a reminder that she needs a lather, rinse repeat. I long for the day when I’m well off and can pay someone to do that for me – she pisses and moans and tries to get out of the bathtub. It’s hell!

    So enjoy – those are the smelly feet of a stinking, living dog. (Why is it so less charming on men?!). Is that why it makes you happy?

    All the best, and thanks for making an animal happy. The stories of misery and cruelty really get me down, so I lap up the good ones (And thanks, Cody, for fighting back and making your mum happy! You have no idea how much she fights for you.)

    xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

