Cody’s Mini Vacation…

I am now working with a long time musician friend of mine Scott Marischen, who plays Jazz Harp. I am doing PR and Management as well as marketing and booking. If you know anything about my resume you know this is right in my wheelhouse. So… he had a gig in Key West Florida this weekend and me and the boy went! I was a bit nervous taking Cody on a trip knowing his immune system is not the best, but regardless of his situation I want him to have fun and enjoy what time he has left. He is pretty sheltered staying home so much, no dog parks and no interaction with other dogs since he is susceptible most of the time.  I wanted him to go and have fun this weekend, swim, interact and see the world a bit.

So we pile in the car and get down to Marathon on Saturday amidst a cold front that pushed it’s way down the state of Florida. What normally is upper 70’s weather was highs of 50’s… so not so much swimming weather but gorgeous just the same. I stopped and got him a doggie life preserver just in case, since you may remember an incident in the pool that freaked me out so bad I am very weary of letting him swim alone at all. So to ease my mind I bought him one. I also wanted to try to get him in the kayak with me this weekend so the life preserver was a necessity anyway.

7 Mile Bridge in The Keys

What a great weekend for him!!!! He ran around the beach, hung out at venues and restaurants, saw some Jazz in Key West and watched us fish off a small dock for a few days. He met some new people, met LOTS of other dogs and I generally wore his ass out all weekend.

  

  

The only down side at all was he got sick the last night puking and I am not sure what caused it. It could have been the asparagus I gave him that we grilled… could have been a residual of the chemo treatment. Regardless he is seeing Dr Butzer on Thursday for a check up and possibly get him on the Leukeran. But beyond that and the sore feet from walking on the landscape of choice in any beach town, ROCKS…. he is good. Just exhausted!

 

He is paying for it today too. He SNORED the entire drive back from the Keys, I gave him a bath (or a shower with me more like) when we got home, and BAM! Back asleep in no time snoring again.

I am hoping this weekend was ok for him as far as his health goes. As far as his constitution-  it was fantastic! He loved it and had a doggie blast! I am a bit worried about all the doggie contact and the exposure to whatever. But again… it is all about him enjoying his life and experiencing what he can in his limited time. And it is my job to make that happen.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on January 18, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

