Walking Together…

I got a wild hair yesterday and decided to go get my Cody paw print tattoo… I had forgotten what it is like to get a tattoo as it has been about 16 years since my last one. I only have one other. And it is a big deal to me. I am not one to take permanence lightly. Maybe this is why I am not married…? Buying a house and even getting Cody was a big decision.

My first and only tattoo prior to yesterday is something I designed myself. I have always had a great connection to Native American art and love Hopi, Haida, Tlingit and Navajo symbolism. I have a degree in Ceramics which is apropos to my belief system and personality in that I am a total hippie at heart… I am earthy and love to make something out of nothing- playing with clay is an amazing ancient connection to past and present. Again this theme! My first tattoo is a combination of elemental symbols: earth, air, water, sun/fire. It is small and on my right ankle and I am in love with it.

The swirl represents water or waves, the right side is a pueblo/earth, and a sunbeam/sun/fire coming through to the wave, and turned clockwise the pueblo also turns into rain clouds/air.

As I have mentioned in prior posts, I have inked Cody’s left paw a few times, which he loved ;)… and had him step on my sketchbook. I got some great prints and decided on one that seemed perfect. I wanted a left front paw print on the top of my left foot to symbolize how we have walked together these last six years. How he has changed my life and offered me a perspective I had not yet known. The permanence of him staying with me forever regardless of his physical presence. So I drew it on a couple days ago and lived with it… and yesterday I just went for it.

Someone very special to me wrote me a letter once… and in it they wrote about how we had walked a hike together for six years… and suddenly the path split choosing to walk our separate ways. But even though we can not see each other any longer somehow we know that each of us are still walking. Again the permanence of staying with me forever regardless of physical presence. Another amazing find in the boxes of memorabilia… and looking at this beautiful letter now, stunned that both of these important events in my life refer to the same length of time… kind of cosmic…

And no… it did not hurt at all. Instead of an outline and being a very dark bold piece, Henry the tattoo artist suggested just using a shader and no outline… and I love it…

  

It is still healing… I will update with a new picture when it is healed… Cody seems to like it too…

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on April 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

