I Miss My Dog…

That pretty much goes without saying doesn’t it? I suppose it is getting easier but there are days where the emptiness of the house and my life where he was are glaring. I miss putting him to bed, running him across the street in that very empty field I see every damn day… And I really miss Dr Butzer too. The cats are just not the same… they do not fill the void in their strange aloofness and it makes it tough.

I still wear his tags around my neck every day. The jingle makes me happy.

I am sure I will get another Lab when the time is right. And I am sure Cody will visit me through him. It has to be a boy… and has to be a Lab… why mess with perfection?

Well… just stopping in to say hello to let you all know I am still here…

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on July 27, 2012.

10 Responses to “I Miss My Dog…”

  1. This is such a sweet post. I know what it’s like to lose a dog to cancer. My Audrey died of blood cancer. By the time she was diagnosed she died within days. It was the most heartbreaking experience of my life. Even harder was watching my other dog mourn her loss.

    My heart goes out to you, love. The pain will subside and the memories will help you get through it. If you ever want to talk, drop me a line.

    • Thank you. You can never fully prepare can you? That is more a statement than a question since I know the answer already. My cats really seem unaffected most of the time although I think Albert, my runt black cat seems to look for Cody every now and then. I also still talk to Cody some times… jingle the dog tags around my neck and Albert looks around.

  2. It does get easier but i was lucky enough to have my “Raven’s” 2 girls after Raven passed away so I get to see her in both of them everyday. My Lucy has her licking love and sweetness, and my Tisa has her feistyness and her independance.. of course you would want another Lab but heal first. I wanted a 3rd dog after a year but for some reason it still isnt right to me. he is there with you honey every day of your life he is there.. I feel Raven around me still and I cry everytime I look at her picture ( I had her for 13 years) I also dream of her and I see her vividly in my dreams. hang in there you were and always will be an awesome mom..<3

    • after Cody was diagnosed I wished he was not fixed. He was such a sweet tempered and loving boy that I would love to have his offspring. But I am sure the next lucky boy I choose will be just a sweet in a whole new way. You are lucky to have her babies with you!

  3. I am sorry for your loss. You are right, why mess with perfection. You should get a lab, a boy, when you are ready to open your heart to a new dog:)

  4. And I think you always will, but the abject pain will soften somewhat over time. I imagine it is complicated by the fact that you went to such extraordinary efforts to save him, and in the end probably didn’t get the desired result. It probably feels like a rip-off too – all that time. And money too, and time are tough. But I think it was worth it. Today, despite feeling the loss greatly, I hope you are not experiencing guilt, because you did so much to help him and loved him so completely. You’re an inspiration, Michelle! Someday some lucky lab will win the doggie lottery and get to go him with you. In due course. Alex

    • Thanks Alex. I am not feeling guilty at all… everything else… yes… but not guilt, which is nice. I know I did all I could and that even though he had to go I feel blessed we had as much time as we did. It really was all worth it and I would do it all over again for him. He changed me for the better and I am not the same person I was when I first adopted him. And as much as I am sad he is not sitting here with me right now, in a way he is always sitting right here and still making me smile. Life is crazy that way…

  5. Woah this weblog is excellent i love studying your articles. Keep up the good work! You recognize, a lot of individuals are hunting around for this information, you can help them greatly.

    • Thanks! That is EXACTLY why I kept this blog. I looked everywhere for this info or any part of it and it was way too sparse. I can only hope it helps other pet owners in their hefty decisions and give them some hope.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

