This Is Why Labradors Are The Best:

A Child With Down Syndrome And His Labrador:

There is a comment below this on the YouTube site that asks why this is adorable since it looks like the boy is trying to get away from the dog. I have an answer. It is not only adorable and special and amazing because of the dog’s demeanor, a true Lab who is all love all the time and only wants YOUR attention. It is amazing in how completely gentle the dog is with the little boy… giving him his space to get used to the dog… letting him do it on his own terms. It is amazing because of how gentle the dog is and how sweet and loving.  Breaking down walls…. Some people just do not get it. Those of us that do are not the same without such a beast in our lives…

Labs are simply the best and I can not wait to Mama another one some day.

Both of these two are adorable and sweet… perfect for each other.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on August 13, 2012.

2 Responses to “This Is Why Labradors Are The Best:”

  1. I appreciate your site. I am going through cancer with my dog and he had surgery 4 months ago to remove what we thought was fatty tumor but was myxosarcoma-cancer. He was back to his old self, and still is, however the growth is back and is about the size of a 50 cent piece. I’m not sure what to do at this point. It is taking a toll on my emotions for sure. I’m not sure how you went through it mentally and financially. I am at such a loss these days with both. I made an appointment for him on Monday and will find out my options for Gunner, a 6 year old black lab.

  2. Hi Lisa,

    Mentally was a whole other thing than financially. I am still paying off vet bills financially and i supplemented the costs with my pet portraits and donations. My vet was also fantastic about giving me breaks and discounts… and it was all worth it to spend the extra time with Cody. He was a gift.

    Mentally… it is a tough road and that is what prompted the blog. I had to process and share… and to know i may be helping others gave me comfort in all that i was trying. It is hard… no doubt about it. I always second guessed my decisions but I always made sure that I was sure before i did anything. The last thing I could deal with were regrets and I felt I had to try, for him and for me.

    My promise to him was a always in my head, that he would not suffer for me or so that I could spend more time with him. He had to be in good spirits or I would not have continued. He certainly had his ups and downs but even the week he passed, the day before he passed even, he was a happy present boy. That is all I really cared about.

    I hope the blog helps you. You can always contact me too if I can help in any way. Even if you simply want to vent. Trust me I know how it is.

    Hang in there and let Gunner tell you the way to go. Labs are so wonderful… if he wants to be there with you – you will know. And when he is done… he will let you know.

    Hugs!
    M

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

