Temptation…

I have not written for a while. Mostly because I don’t have too much to say. Life moves along slowly trudging along day after day and I still miss Cody. I am still wearing his tags around my neck every single day and the jingle still brings me a lot of peace.

And so during the normal drudgery which is my life right now I was at work yesterday and a father and daughter came in with a puppy. And of course all puppies are incredibly cute and precious but this one just tugged at my heart. Daisy is a Golden Retriever, soft as silk, cute as a button looking like a baby harp seal. I saw her and like Dr. Butzer (who I saw this morning riding his bike by me as I rode my bike) I got down on the ground and let her crawl all over me and lick my face. The wave of puppy breath enveloping my nose and making me really want a dog again.

I talked with her owners for quite a while neglecting my duties on the job. But she hit a sweet spot where I just can’t replace it with anything but pure dog. I wouldn’t say I’m ready yet, but I’m getting close and when things like this happen it makes it really hard to say no.

They let me take a picture of cute three-month-old Daisy:

20120831-110711.jpg

Now you understand why it was so hard not to just grab her and run out the door!

Well that’s all my news for now. I hope everyone out there in doggy land doing good. Give your dogs and your cats and all your animals some special love for me today.

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on August 31, 2012.

3 Responses to “Temptation…”

  1. OMG!!!! Cuteness don’t do it! You still need a little time…
    Take care
    Joann

  2. What a dear and wonderful story. I am so sorry for your loss. It’s the way we felt when our cat, Charlie died from lymphoma a year ago. And there is no easy way to check for the lymphatic system cancer. There were just subtle signs which we attributed to him getting older and becoming acclimated to our new cat, Amber. Charlie passed away on July 22, 2011 and on September 3rd of 2011, we adopted two young cats needing homes. They had both been rescued from shelters that euthanize pets who are not adopted. Then they were picked out by a couple of no-kill shelters. PetSmart which runs many adoption fairs at its stores had an adoption fair on Labor Day Weekend. Both of our hearts said we had done everything possible for Charlie and it was time. They have been wonderful and intelligent cats. Lillie constantly plays games and entertains herself. Henri jumps up on my lap and touches his nose to mine and leans into me. He also kisses me on the forehead. He is my Lovey. He was so afraid when he first came here and nipped and stayed to himself. Now he is vocal about anything. Asking for food. Asking for affection. He lets me know too when it’s hug time by sitting and staring up in my face. There will never be another like Cody and he died way too young. Gradually the pain of loss will be replaced by the gratefulness and love of a life so wonderously shared and an understanding that the moments he shared with you are never lost, but expressed and shared in the memory of the love and moments he shared with you. Love lives on forever.

    • Thank you Frank. The entire year and a half of ups and downs were all worth it. I never even thought twice about what I did for him or what it cost. Cody truly made me a better person and I will always be grateful for that. And at some point it will be time for another little fluff ball in my house, and I am excited for that! The rate now it seems too soon and I think about Cody every day so I still need some time. I think we always know when the time is right though and they almost choose us.

      Good for you for bringing Henri out of his shell. It makes us better people doesn’t it?

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

