Self Inflicted Torture…

I torture myself. I admit it. The first step to recovery is admitting your problem.

I torture myself by constantly going to every dog rescue website and organization that I could possibly drive to and looking and reading all the sad stories. I want to save them all. I wish I could. I want to at least save one… maybe two definitely. If I could only buy a farm…

I think I have mentioned this before, but I have worked with Golden Rescue Of South Florida previously doing events with my pet portraiture. They are a fantastic and very small organization, and they do great things. And every once in a while they get a Labrador. And right now they have one. A male named Mopar (I would change that name!). He was completely malnourished, covered in ticks and needed love. They fostered him and he is on the road to recovery… and needs a forever home. They have no idea how old he is… but he is sweet and loves cats.

Can you hear my heart breaking? I can. He is a yellow Lab and handsome as can be…

There are so many stories like this. And some much much worse. There is a Labrador Rescue of South Florida as well but they are spread out in foster homes all over the state so it is harder to visit the ones of interest… but all Labs are worth the effort.

I am also considering fostering but I am not sure that is right for me with the cats and of course, having to give them up eventually.

I am searching though… I am waiting for my next boy to find me. I am ready. Now if I can just convince my guy to be ready we would be on our way. I understand the reluctance… Cody was overwhelming at times and heart-wrenching for sure. And although it is a crap shoot I am sure a healthy dog is in my future where we can bring him along wherever we go without the fear of getting ill. Cody was a special circumstance… but even so we took him camping and on trips. Imagine the life a healthy dog wold have with us!!!

All good things in all good time… but it is hard to have patience. I miss having a dog house.

 

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on September 20, 2012.

One Response to “Self Inflicted Torture…”

  1. I know what you mean! The other day my fiancé caught me looking at a website for chow mix dogs in need of being rescued. I got yelled at he asked me why would I be looking for a another dog that resembles Kuma? It’s hard just when I think I am getting better I go off the deep end again:(

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

