My Little Big Dog….

Oscar is almost full grown I think. And although I have not had him at the vet since his last puppy shots a couple months ago so I do not know exactly how much he weighs… I think he is right on target with Butzer’s estimate of 55lbs. Heavy enough to make my legs go numb when he lays on them (which is always) but not too large that I cannot move him when I need to.

IMG_5635He is definitely a lot more than Labrador that is for sure. Some dominant gene in him makes him a smaller in stature dog, the ear are more inclined to sit atop his head, he herds (yes he guides me along when I am running and tries to “keep me in line”), he is not at all fast but has a lot of energy and likes to jump, he is insane about birds, and that tail… it is a total curlicue.

IMG_5129 IMG_5132I have tried to coax him into the pool and he does get in… but it really takes a lot of coaxing. He runs away at first scared of the water, and then he is a swimming machine.

IMG_5572But he has yet to jump in, or really seem to enjoy the pool. It seems like it is just the way for him to be with me when I am in it.

So I find other ways to wear out his crazy puppy energy. I take him running with me every morning and he now does really well on the loose leash running with me. We get a good sweaty workout and he collapses when we get home…

IMG_5810IMG_5803

I am still very interested in adopting another dog to add to my male heavy family and this weekend was a great trial run. I took the boy over to  friend’s house for dinner and she has 4 Goldens (she runs Golden Rescue of South Florida)!!! Look at these pics!!! HILARIOUS! Can you find Oscar? HA!

IMG_5882 IMG_5860 IMG_5861 IMG_5880IMG_5905 IMG_5911 IMG_5901

I could have a pack!!! It was sooo much LOVE!!!

Anyway I wanted to give you all an update on how big the Lil Man is getting. And he is starting to get it too… all falling into place…

Cheers!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on May 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

