Happy Birthday My Sweet Boy!

IMG_4844

Today would have been Cody’s 8th birthday. He was the best,  so good natured and sweet, well on his way to being an amazing companion and I often think of how he would have settled into old age with me. I was walking the two boys, Oscar and Lucas, this morning on our daily morning three mile jaunt around the neighborhood thinking of Cody. I used to take Cody on the same route daily before work… on the weekends. He loved exploring the area with me and he was always so good…  such a happy companion.

IMG_4858

All weekend I was thinking of the last birthday we spent together. I made him a steak dinner and we ate together at the coffee table in my living room. It was amazing and hilarious… and he was a happy spoiled boy for a night. (well… always spoiled but even more so that day). I am not much of a steak eater so I will have to think of some way to celebrate tonight in his honor.

Cody run 4

It doesn’t feel like it has been a year already since he crossed over. In a way he has never left me… there are signs of him all around me that I love to see on a daily basis. From my own foot, to the painting in my living room, to the toys I still have that he loved. I even have two of his last tennis balls displayed subtly. One is on his ashes, the last one we played with across the street with the Chuck-It (which still sits by the front door where it always stayed). And the other is in the window sill out by the pool… the last one he played with in the water. It has been out there on that sill for two years now and has not disintegrated yet, although it is barely green anymore. Like it is watching over us all making sure we enjoy the pool as much as he did from that first weekend I had him. Oh the fun this dog had in that pool! HILARIOUS! I would watch him and try to think of games that would wear him out so he would sleep the afternoon away. The energy he had was awesome! The pool only ended when I ended it… he would go all day long if I let him.

IMG_0635

IMG_0636

IMG_0634

So happy 8th Birthday my sweet baby boy! I will celebrate your life today all day long and think of you happy and healthy!

IMG_3848

IMG_3206

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on July 15, 2013.

One Response to “Happy Birthday My Sweet Boy!”

  1. It’s already been a sad Monday morning for me so reading this broke my heart but Happy Birthday Cody and I hope you and my Raven are celebrating it the way u should be.. Playing and being pain free❤❤❤

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

