Honk!!! Honk!!! Hello Kennel Cough…

20130811-075419.jpg

Oscar has Kennel Cough. Ugh…

Last night he started coughing and kind of gagging. I thought it was probably just something he was chewing since he chews everything, and eats whatever he finds outside as well. But then as I was getting ready for bed he was coughing more, and it sounded very dry.

He slept on the bed as usual and kept me up most of the night with his coughing. Then this morning he got up was coughing so much that he puked a few times. It really wracks his body when he coughs as I am sure any of you who have seen a dog cough knows.

I came home for lunch to feed him and check on him and he was not coughing at all. Not once. I was pretty relieved and thought that maybe I was mistaken about the Kennel Cough but when I got home after work today he was honking up a storm! I mean, there was no doubt that he has it.

20121126-091121.jpg

If you are not familiar with Kennel Cough, also known as Bordetella it is a HIGHLY contagious bacterial or viral infection sort of like the flu in humans. If left untreated it usually goes away on its own but CAN in some cases turn into pneumonia. Here is what Wikipedia says about it:

Kennel cough is an upper respiratory infection affecting dogs.[1] It is caused by a combination of the canine parainfluenza virus and the bacteria Bordetella bronchiseptica. It is highly contagious.[2] Kennel cough is so named because the infection can spread quickly among dogs in the close quarters of a kennel or animal shelter.

Viral and bacterial causes of canine cough are spread through airborne droplets produced by sneezing and coughing. These agents also spread through contact with contaminated surfaces. Most causes of kennel cough are highly contagious, even days or weeks after symptoms disappear. Symptoms usually begin two to three days after exposure,[2] and can progress to lower respiratory infections such as pneumonia. This disease is not a zoonose, i.e. it can not be transmitted to humans.”

I am still unclear whether it can be transmitted to the cats. The internet is very controversial and contradictory. Regardless I am pretty sure he did not get it from Camp Canine but did get it from the dog park on Halloween, I have known this particular dog park to be an incubator of Bordetella since I started taking him there as a puppy. I have read on numerous sites that the incubation period is 2-4 days and some sites say a week. I am pretty sure that still takes Camp Canine out of the running.

Regardless not only is it too late for the cats exposure if it is in fact contagious to them, but there really is not much I can do for Oscar either besides make sure it does not get worse. I would like to avoid antibiotics unless absolutely necessary.  So I am keeping an eye on him to see if it progresses and gets worse. As long as he keeps eating and playing he is good and should kick it on his own, just like the human cold. I have read about some home remedies but want to see if he can clear it up himself first before I add Vitamin C or anything to his diet. He is pretty damn healthy and I am sure this is just a little cold.

I really feel bad for him but he shows no signs that it bothers him really… except the cough. And if it does continue to get worse I will take him to see Butzer and we will get it taken care of.

20121211-143518.jpg

 

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on November 4, 2013.

One Response to “Honk!!! Honk!!! Hello Kennel Cough…”

  1. Poor boy! Get well soon Oscar, and maybe lay off the Marlboros from now on.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

