Oscar and The Landfill Dogs…

20131118-093545.jpg

Oscar is now completely over his Kennel Cough and is back to normal with his routine. We are running in the mornings again and his energy is back especially being off the hydrocodone. Wow that was crazy to watch him on that stuff… totally dopey. It also made him incredibly thirsty and he would drink bowl after bowl of water. And because of that I think he may have relieved himself somewhere in my living room while I was at work because all weekend I smelled it… I searched high and low and cannot find the exact source but I can find the “area”. I bought a Bissel pet carpet cleaning gadget and tried to spot treat where I thought it was… but it still reeks.

20131118-093619.jpg

Yuk.

I hate carpeting. If I could afford to refloor my entire house I would have done it long ago…

Anyway… that will be a fun detective project for the next few weeks.

On another note… I found this woman’s project in my travels around the web and I think she is doing great things. I truly hope she decides to continue with it after her year. It is called LANDFILL DOGS and I will paste her own words here to describe the project. If you are anywhere near North Carolina please friend her on Facebook where she posts adoption info and spread the word about these amazing dogs. And the majority… AGAIN… are pitbulls. Look at how incredibly happy they are to be outside for even a brief stint…

From Landfill Dogs :

Artist Statement

These are not just cute pictures of dogs. These are dogs who have been homeless for at least two weeks, and now face euthanasia if they do not find a home. Each week for 18 months (late 2012–early 2014) I bring one dog from the county animal shelter and photograph him/her at the local landfill.

The landfill site is used for two reasons. First, this is where the dogs will end up if they do not find a home. Their bodies will be buried deep in the landfill among our trash. These photographs offer the last opportunity for the dogs to find homes.

The second reason for the landfill location is because the county animal shelter falls under the same management as the landfill. This government structure reflects a societal value: homeless cats and dogs are just another waste stream. However, this landscape offers a metaphor of hope. It is a place of trash that has been transformed into a place of beauty. I hope the viewer also sees the beauty in these homeless, unloved creatures.

As part of this photographic process, each dog receives a car ride, a walk, treats, and about 2 hours of much-needed individual attention. My goal is to offer an individual face to the souls that are lost because of animal overpopulation, and give these animals one last chance. This project will continue for one year, so that we can see the landscape change while the constant stream of dogs remains the same.

—Mary Shannon Johnstone

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on November 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

