Ups And Downs…

fruitsveggiesWell it has been an interesting couple of weeks for me. The biggest news is that I was laid off from my job on February 7th. This is the third time in five years I have been laid off from a job. Not fun. I could go on and on and on about this and the state of the job market, the economy and Florida etc etc yadda yadda yadda… but I will not subject you readers to that nonsense. Suffice it to say I am over it. Even while still employed in January with this latest job I knew my time was short with them and that I am tired of working to make someone else successful and being left with nothing. Giving my days over to another company that can literally cut me off at any moment and destroy my income is giving away control of my future and my life. I am done with it. So I enrolled in school to start myself on the track to self employment, completely changing my career.

I have a goal. I will be self employed and immersed in my new career by the end of this year! I am enrolled in The Institute for Integrative Nutrition to become a Wellness Coach. It is something that I have been passionate about forever, and it started with Cody. Well, it started for ME before Cody but he really put it in perspective. When I saw how much time he got from simply changing his diet and supplements, I was inspired. I truly believe with all my heart that he would not have done so well, been so happy and symptom free, had it not been for the diet I had him on while he was getting his chemo treatments.

You are what you eat.

And no one cares more about YOU than YOU. If you take charge and fuel your body with the right things, you can fight illness, disease and thrive. I plan on teaching people exactly how to do that for themselves AND their pets. It is very important to me to incorporate pet wellness in my practice. When I see folks in the grocery store buying the cheapest dog food on the shelf I cringe. When I see them loading their carts with boxes and bags of processed chemical laden foods I feel like I want to help them. I want to teach people how to cook at home, cook better and healthier, shop better and make better choices all the way around. We all vote with our dollars, let’s vote for health! And this will totally satisfy my love for cooking which I am incredibly passionate about! It is a win win win!!!

Anyway, it has been a while since I wrote here and I wanted to update you all on my world a bit.

On other notes, I am still painting and would be happy to take any orders for pet portraits if that is of interest.

And of course now that I am unemployed I get to spend a lot of quality time with my favorite boy, Oscar. Not too shabby!

20140219-121950.jpg

As you can see he is quite the photogenic handsome boy, growing into a good looking healthy and incredibly shiny dog. I am not sure I mentioned this but he has been on Orijen since he was a puppy. I order it from Chewy.com and I love them. Orijen is biologically appropriate dog food with no grains. It is cage free, wild caught proteins and locally sourced (to their factory) vegetable and fruits etc. And Oscar thrives on it. He looks great, not an ounce of fat on him, his coat is shiny and healthy, and his eyes are bright and clear. His breath is fine too… none of that weird digestive smell some foods can give dogs. And the best yet, NO GAS!

20140219-122001.jpg

He is quite happy and so are we! HAHA! I also give him organic carrots, organic broccoli stems, and deer and elk  antlers for chewing. Regular cow bones that most pet store sell can seriously crack dog’s molars and cause you enormous vet dental bills and of course, cause your dog pain. Antlers are softer and do not splinter, so they are better for your pet’s teeth. And they come in all sizes and last a REALLY long time. Which makes the higher price tag on them much more worth it.

20140219-122031.jpgLife in the animal house is good. Everyone is getting along fine and of course, just like Cody before him, Oscar is best buddies with the little black cat Albert. Or as I like to call him, The Don. He is definitely the boss, which is hilarious. I need to try to video their chases around the living room. To see a small runt cat chase a big dog around the house is quite amusing.

Anyway that is my update. Please feel free to comment and let me know how you and your pets are doing!

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on February 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

