Fixing A Hole Where The Rain Gets In….

Everyone has ups and downs. Everyone has stress in their lives. Everyone. Some have more than others, some have runs of bad luck or situations and then it gets better. I have hopefully just completed one of those runs of bad luck. It is not really appropriate to call it luck at all, as there was no luck involved.

At the beginning of the year two friends passed suddenly, and this last month another. In between all of that I was laid off, I think I mentioned that in a prior post. But this last tragedy was felt community wide in my world, and real big in my heart. REAL BIG. Not to compare, they all hurt like Hell. But this last one, this beautiful creative fixture in our small music community here was a doozie. A man whose voice, song, presence, and smile will be missed for a long time. Forever. He made a huge impact on the lives of everyone around him by his sweet kind giving nature and love of all things musical and creative. It is a huge hole…

I wont get into the details here. If you would like to read about it you can do so here:

Corey Dwyer and Me

Corey Dwyer and Me

Why am I writing about this on a blog about animals? Because Corey was an animal lover and he especially loved and adored his cats. Ever since I met him way back in 2002 we would talk about his cats and share stories. He loved them like they were his children. And I am mostly talking about this here because I don’t know how I would ever get through any tragedy or down turn in my life without my pets. For those of us without children to distract and amaze us daily, we have our furry children to fill that gap. And mine are pros at this point.

Oscar has been my solace daily since this whole tragic episode started and played itself out. He gives special hugs and kisses to wipe away tears… he makes sure to accompany me wherever I go inside or out so I don’t feel so alone. He sits with me closer than normal, lays down with me and makes sure he is touching me somewhere… to let ME know he is there and to keep tabs on where I am too. It is beautiful. He listens as I sob, he never interrupts. He licks my tears away and tells me in his own way that everything will be ok.  Even the aloof cats know when my heart hurts, they have both been especially attentive and cuddly lately.

It helps more than anything else.

Never discount the healing power of the animal kingdom. There is a reason dogs are brought into hospitals, are used for services for the blind and debilitated, and senior facilities. It would be a wonderful thing to take shelter dogs and have places like this adopt them for therapeutic purposes, even just for visits of cuddles and belly rubs. Giving both parties a new lease on life and a second chance, and with a community of people around to care for them, why not? Animals don’t judge… and those sloppy wet kisses can truly brighten someone’s day and world.

We are still putting the pieces back together after Corey’s death. It will take a long time and a lot of adjustment. I couldn’t possibly get it together without my animals around me to comfort and just be there for me. They are the piece of the Puzzle that fits perfectly and fills that space…

This is Corey singing the Railroad Earth tune “Bird In A House” at the Thirsty Turtle in Juno Beach FL…. It is such a great rendition of this tune… and poignant… and the perfect end to this post…

Bird In A House

Safe Travels my friend…. you are missed…

GID-8.3.04--15s

GID 8.3.04 -11

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on May 21, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Jammin' Jazz

Jazz For The New Generation

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

