Happy Birthday My Sweet Boy…

Today is Cody’s birthday.  He would’ve been 10 years old today. It is hard to believe. I still think of him every single day not only looking at my foot and the tattoo of his paw on it, but the painting in my living room and his ashes below. All reminders of my sweet boy who was taken way too young in life.

So Happy Birthday my sweet boy…. I am thinking of you today and every day….

  

~ by Michelle Sammartino-Zeto on July 15, 2015.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday My Sweet Boy…”

  1. I lost my old boy Samson last month. Unlike your Cody who was taken in the prime of his life, Samson lived to be 13 1/2 years old. Like your Cody, he ultimately passed from cancer. We still have Samson’s partner, Mocha – she’s a good old girl, just a bit younger than Samson, and I’m trying to help her get through the loss of her almost lifelong companion. We had the vet do a house call so Mocha and her human family could be with Samson, in a safe, comfortable place at the end, but I don’t think she really understands. All she knows is he’s not here anymore. As time passes, things get a bit easier for me, but little, silly things tear me up. Last night, I decided to eat a banana, and got all teary because I remembered how Samson loved bananas and how I never got a whole one because he would eat most of it. I just wanted to tell you that reading your blog on your journey with Cody has helped me a lot. Reading about your experience has helped me to not feel foolish because I’m mourning my best friend.

    • Hi Hugh, This blog is mostly so quiet now that I cherish when I receive notes like yours. I completely understand your heartache. It is just so hard to lose a best friend who loved so completely and so unconditionally. It was a huge empty space in my entire world when Cody left us, but the lessons remain. It is so strange what triggers you emotionally, I am dealing with that still over Cody and now also with my Mom who passed away a little over three months ago. Such odd moments where I had no foresight that something as minor as sitting at a traffic light would bring tears for some random memory that creeped in.

      Nope, you are certainly not alone in your deep feelings on losing Samson… and I am sure Mocha is finding it hard to adjust in many ways as well. Hang in there and love her up every day… it’s what it is all about.

Leave a comment

 
Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Whiteboard Unicorns

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Cake Wrecks

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Chicken Maker

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Hyperbole and a Half

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Saving Cody

A Chronicle Of My Labrador's Fight Against Canine Lymphoma

Ultimate Kitchen Commando

Helping you achieve your food goals one bite at at time

© 365 Days of Pure Vegetarian

Cooking with Compassion ~ recipes from India & around the world

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.